facebook pixel
  • Deposit: $300
  • Minimum stay: 4 weeks
  • Meals: Breakfast, Dinner
  • Internet: Yes
  • Smoking: No
  • Can pickup airport?: Yes
  • House has pets?: Yes
  • Available from: 22 Aug 2023
  • Available to: 22 Aug 2024
  • Guests: Students, Travellers, Workers
My names Melissa and I am a 45-year-old professional female who works in the CBD.

I have what I think is a warm and inviting home:-) The street is peaceful and family oriented, with lots of friendly neighbors who always keep an eye out for each other. The house itself overlooks the Whau river, and everyone comments that you wouldn't know you're in Auckland when you're here.

The room available has a double bed, a tall boy, and a decent sized built in wardrobe. You get to use the spare bedroom for study, which is set up with a single bed and desk, so you're basically getting two rooms to use. Without meals it is $280 / week. Or to include breakfast and dinner 7 days per week is $350. (I will cook Sunday - Thursday nights, and on a Friday and Saturday night I will provide the food, but you cook your own dinner.) The bathroom is shared but you have your own separate toilet.

In terms of location, there's a bus stop ~200m from the gate, which goes into the CBD each day (stops outside Spark / Les Mills on Victoria St), and goes down Symonds St (Auckland Uni). If you catch the express it's ~45 min ride. OR, you can take the bus up to the Avondale train station (a 5 minute drive), then train in to Britomart (or get off at Mt Albert for Unitec). I'm happy to help with getting set up with a Hop card and the app / timetable on your phone:) (When I'm driving places/supermarket in the weekend, am happy to give you a lift too if it suits).

I currently also drive into the CBD 2-3 days per week, and am happy to give you a ride in as it suits.

I go away a lot in the weekends to the Coromandel, so this is the ideal house for someone independent and who would like having the house to themselves every now and again. I also have a week away in Fiji in November, and go away for 2 weeks over Xmas, so you need to be okay with being on your own at these times (when I'm away, I wouldn't charge for the meals.)

If you have a car, there's plenty of on and off street parking, and it's only 12 mins into the city in off peak traffic.

I don't like to be heavy on rules, but prefer to have someone who understands that if you make a mess, then you clean it up.

If you're wondering, the type of food I cook a lot are things like lasagna (make a really good one!), fish pie (make a good one of those too!), soups, stews, stir frys etc.

Wi-fi is unlimited.

Last but not least, I have two cats but they're shy of strangers, so they're likely to just stay away from you.


  • Premium member since 23 Sep 2023
  • Phone verified


Places Nearby

  • Unitec

    is 8 km away (17 mins by bus)
  • Avondale Library

    is 2 km away (9 mins by bus)
  • Avondale Sunday Markets

    is 2 km away (9 mins by bus)
  • Britomart

    is 10 km away (30 mins by train)
  • Auckland University

    is 12 km away (37 mins by bus)